Kale Chips

kale chips

Whenever I am bored, I always find junk foods to munch on. Bags of potatoes chips, tortilla chips and pretzels are just full of carbs and not healthy. I always ended up buying healthy roasted veggie chips from Costco but now I am getting bored eating them. Kale was in season and was on sale all the time. I went to the store to buy kale. After looking at kale, I changed my mind. Confession: I really am not the person who eats salads. I am always munching on carbs. Trying to eat healthy is very difficult when everyone in your house eats unhealthy foods full of carbs.

After couple of days I saw my friend Karishma’s blog and she also made kale chips. Seeing kale chips got me thinking and interested. After few days, I got salad at work with kale in it and I just didn’t like the taste. Kale has unique aftertaste which threw me off and I never attempted making kale chips.

We have wellness program at work that helps and promotes better lifestyle and eating habits. At work, one of the health coaches introduced us to Kale and Baked kale chips. Here we meet again!! Kale is perfectly in season right now and always on sale. Kale chips are super easy to make. I am in process of changing my lifestyle and trying to lose few pounds. It is very difficult to encourage friends and family to eat healthy, and live a balanced lifestyle. Especially, when there are too many unhealthy options around you. Having family that lives on Indian foods full of carbs, it makes it very difficult to introduce healthy eating habits.

Seeing the benefits of Kale, I finally forced my self to go and buy kale and give it another try. This time I fell in love with Kale! Since past few months, I have been eating kale every single day. I have introduced kale in Indian food, salads, soups, etc.

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch of Kale, washed and dried
  • 1 tsp Olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt

Instructions

 Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Wash the kale then gently pat it dry. Remove the tough stem from each leaf, and then tear the leaves into large pieces (they will shrink to be chip size when they bake).

  • In a large bowl drizzle the olive oil onto the kale, using your hands to massage the oil into the leaves. Sprinkle the paprika, garlic powder onto the kale (you may need to use your hands here too, to evenly distribute the spices.
  • Lay out the leaves onto a baking sheet or foil. Dust with sea salt, then bake for about 16 minutes, turning after 8 minutes. Leaves should be crisp and curled at the edges.
  • Enjoy as a snack or with your sandwich or soups

image (1)

Leave a Reply

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

GoanImports.com

Learn about Goa Culture, Foods and Recipes

Made by you and I

Cooking -- and photography -- are personalization

Sonia Ruyts

live your bold, creative life one moment at a time

Entertainment

What’s good, bad and happening, from pop culture to high culture

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages