Stuffed Eggplants (Bharelna Ringana)

524589_10151336636261643_421522330_n

In my family, everyone loves eggplant. At least twice a week, my parents cook eggplant subji-curry.  After marriage, I cooked eggplants in the house at least once a week because my husband also loves eggplant subji-curry. When I was young, I avoided eating dishes with eggplants. After trying my dad’s stuffed eggplants, I realized that eggplants were the yummiest vegetables. I frequently make eggplant subji-curry at home for lunch-dinner. This is my dad’s stuffed eggplant recipe that I grew up eating and just love.

Last week my husband was craving stuffed eggplants. I have not made this dish since I moved out of my parents’ house. It has been two years; I never attempted to make this dish because I didn’t think I would be able to make it as good as my dad’s. My husband went to grocery store and bought baby eggplants.

A stuffed eggplant (Bharela Ringana) is a traditional Gujarati recipe. It can be prepared with or without gravy, but everyone in my family loves it with gravy. This dish can be served with Roti, Bhakri, Naan, or Paratha.

 Ingredients

4-6 baby eggplants

2-4 baby potatoes (optional)

For Stuffing

½ cup chickpea flour (roasted)

2-3 tbsp cumin- coriander powder

1 tsp sugar powder

½ tsp turmeric powder

3 tsp red chili powder

Salt to taste

2 tsp lemon juice

2 tbsp oil

For Seasoning

2 tbsp Oil

1 tsp Cumin seeds

1 tsp mustard seeds

1 tsp ginger garlic paste

Pinch of Asafetida

Filling in Eggplants :

168562_10151336548151643_1732807362_n

Steaming method: 

–          Wash baby eggplants and baby potatoes (optional). Cut all into four parts but don’t cut the end.

–          In a bowl, add all the ingredients listed for stuffing together and start filling the baby eggplants and baby potatoes.

–          Put all the stuffed vegetables on the steamer and steam them until soft.

–          In a wide pan, heat some oil. Add cumin & mustard seeds. Add a pinch of asafetida and ginger-garlic paste.

–          Place all the steamed stuffed eggplants and potatoes in the pan and gently flip to cover all the sides.

–          If you want this dish to have gravy then sprinkle leftover stuffing on top with some water and let it cook on medium heat for approx. 5 minutes.

–          Garnish with chopped coriander leaves (optional)

–          Ready to serve!..

Pressure cooker method:

 –          Wash baby eggplants and baby potatoes (optional). Cut all into four parts but don’t cut the end.

–          In a bowl, add all the ingredients listed for stuffing together and start filling the baby eggplants and baby potatoes.

–          Heat oil in a pressure cooker and add cumin & mustard seeds. When it starts to sizzle, add ginger-garlic paste, asafetida & add remaining stuffing and fry it for 1 minute.

–          Add 2-3 cups of water and bring it to gentle boil on medium flame.

–          Place all the stuffed vegetables in the pressure cooker and close the lid.

–          Let it cook for approx. 10-12 minutes or for 2-3 whistles depending on the size of the baby eggplants & potatoes.

–          Garnish with chopped coriander (optional)

–          Ready to serve !..

Leave a Reply

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

GoanImports.com

Learn about Goa Culture, Foods and Recipes

Made by you and I

Cooking -- and photography -- are personalization

Sonia Ruyts

live your bold, creative life one moment at a time

Entertainment

What’s good, bad and happening, from pop culture to high culture

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages