Jalapeno Cheddar Tortilla Pizza

1471270_10151787892086643_1642703819_n

Yesterday after a long two hour workout I was feeling too tired to cook. I was really craving pizza so I decided to make a quick, healthier version of pizza using the supplies I already had at home. This dish has fewer carbs, less cheese, and lots of veggies!! My love for pizza runs deep. I like pizza in any form; from gourmet to frozen and deep dish to thin & crispy. I love it ALL!!!

I really enjoy making my own pizza dough, but let’s be real- on some nights that is just too much work. Also, lately I have been trying to eat healthy and work out to maintain my weight during the holidays. I make whole wheat tortillas at home all the time and use them for everything. I don’t remember last time I brought a loaf of bread, but I always have different varieties of tortillas in my fridge. I love jalapeno cheddar, spinach and sun-dried tomato basil tortillas. I use them for my wraps, chips and pizzas.

With a quick five minute pre-bake, less than five minutes to top the pizzas, and then another brief five minute bake to finish them off, these incredibly delicious, thin & cripsy pizzas will be ready to eat in 15 minutes. What more could you ask for? I made my pizzas vegetarian, but you can always tweak the toppings to your own taste. I stir-fry my veggies slightly before topping them on my pizza. This is my all-time favortie dish, because whenever I feel like eating pizza or don’t have energy to cook I make this dish. The other awesome thing about this recipe is that you can keep all of the ingredients in your fridge and just bake up one or two at a time.  This pizza is very quick, easy and addicting.

Ingredients:

1 large jalapeno cheddar tortilla (whole wheat, spinach, sun-dried tomato basil)

1/4 cup spicy tomato sauce (marinara, pesto, etc)

1/2 cup mozzarella cheese (cheddar, goat, feta, etc)

Toppings (go wild!)

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees Farenheit. Place the tortillas on baking rack (baking sheet) into the oven. Bake for 4-5 minutes, or until the tortillas are crisp. If making more than two pizzas at once, you will need to do this in batches.

While the tortilas are pre-baking, thinly slice your toppings. If you are a fan of having crunchy toppings then stir-fry  your toppings on stove top on high temp. Top the pizza with your desired sauce, cheese and toppings.

Place the topped pizza back into the oven for an additional 5 minutes, or until cheese is melted and bubbly. The tortillas should be nice and crispy after removing them from the oven. Cut them in desired pieces and ready to serve! Top it with garlic powder, oregano, permasan cheese, and my favorite red chilli flakes!!

P.S. Jazz up your pizza with any sauce and toppings you like!!..

Leave a Reply

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

GoanImports.com

Learn about Goa Culture, Foods and Recipes

Made by you and I

Cooking -- and photography -- are personalization

Sonia Ruyts

live your bold, creative life one moment at a time

Entertainment

What’s good, bad and happening, from pop culture to high culture

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages