Tomato Garlic Rasam

1526196_10151819292631643_235600217_n

After long holiday week with family and eating varieties of food, I thought of having a meal that is quick and easy. My Husband and I both are down with cold. Winter has knocked the doors, with shorter days and longer nights. Since last week we have been getting snow quite frequently. Being sick in this freezing cold winter days, I just wanted something that will comfort my throat and heal my cold. After couple of home-made soups, I thought of making Tomato-Garlic-Rasam.

Rasam is very quick and easy dish. The word Rasam is obtained from the Sanskrit word “Rasa” which means juice. A common south Indian dish that is regularly prepared in most homes, you could say this dish is the Indian version of spicy soup. There are many varieties of Rasam such as tomato-garlic, lemon, jeera and the list continues. I am sure there are many unique ways of preparing this dish but this is how I learned from a friend. Last year when I was sick my friend use to make this dish for me and since then I fell in love!

Tomato Garlic Rasam is very soothing and a great remedy for cold and sore throat. It makes a very rare appearance in my kitchen. I always prefer this dish on a cold rainy day or when I am sick with hot piping steamed rice.

Ingredients:

6-8 Garlic pods (crushed)

2 tbsp Peppercorn (crushed)

1 tbsp Cumin seeds (crushed)

2 Tomatoes medium ripe

1-2  cup of Toor dal water (2tbsp of dal with 1 cup of water in pressure cooker)

1 tsp of Tamarind paste

1 tsp of Oil

Salt per taste

Coriander chopped for garnish

Method:

Coarsely grind the peppercorns, cumin seeds and garlic. I love using pressure cooker to cook toor dal. I use only 2 tbsp of dal with 1 cup of water in pressure cooker. I also put my two tomatoes in there to cook while the dal is cooking. Afterwards I take the tomatoes and peel the skin and grind them into fine paste. I leave the cooked toor dal on the side and only took the broth.

Heat oil in a pan. Add the coarsley grind mixture of peppercorn, cumin seeds, and garlic. Roast the mixture for 1-2 minutes then add your tomato paste, tamarind and toor dal broth. Add salt as per taste. When it comes to boil, turn off the stove, add coriander leaves and close the pan. Ready to serve!

P.S. Make sure you use well ripened tomatoes for preparing this dish. Don’t overboil the rasam. If you are sick prepare rasam with more crushed peppers, garlic and few pieces of ginger, It really helps with sore throat and cold. Trust me!

One response to “Tomato Garlic Rasam

  1. Nice, nice; and most welcome in these chilly times.

Leave a Reply

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

GoanImports.com

Learn Goan and Indian Recipes

Made by you and I

Cooking -- and photography -- are personalization

Sonia Ruyts

live your bold, creative life one moment at a time

Entertainment

What’s good, bad and happening, from pop culture to high culture

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages