Stuffed Zucchini

10154073_10152023355101643_3048252459438909201_n

I have been having a summer love affair with zucchini. Plentiful, versatile, adaptable, from yet yielding to the right handling, readily available, a prolific producer. I have obsession with zucchini. I could live eating zucchini with every meal and would not care for any other vegetable. I have had zucchini pancakes, bread, muffins, stir-fry, latkes, and even pasta. My co-worker Candy introduced me to this dish. She experimented this recipe and brought it to work. After the first bite, I was in LOVE! I came home and next day I had these baking in the oven. They are  yummy, filling and yet healthy! I even stopped craving pizza after eating these awesome stuffed zucchinis. I hope you try and let me know your experience.

Ingredients:

3 medium zucchini

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

1 tbsp. EVOO

1 tbsp. Italian seasoning

1/2 cup finely chopped onions

1/2 cup finely chopped bell pepper

1/2 cup finely chopped carrots

1/2 cup finely chopped mushrooms

4 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 tsp. oregano

1/2 cup cheese (Parmesan/Mozzarella mix)

Method:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment.

Slice the zucchini in half lengthwise. using a paring knife, cut a 1/4 inch border around the flesh of the zucchini. Using a spoon, scoop out the flesh and seeds, leaving a shell about  1/4 inch thick. Finely chop the flesh/seeds.

Heat 1 tbsp. EVOO in a large saute pan over medium heat. Add garlic and all chopped veggies including the scooped out zucchini. Saute until all veggies are tender. Add salt, pepper and stir occasionally. Turn off the stove and let it cool.

Take the stuffing and fill all the zucchini shells. Top it with cheese and oregano. Bake until the cheese is slightly brown, about 15 minutes. Serve as a main or side dish.

P.S. This dish is very addictive. I make these at least twice a month, because they are so yummy.

 

Leave a Reply

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

GoanImports.com

Learn Goan and Indian Recipes

Made by you and I

Cooking -- and photography -- are personalization

Sonia Ruyts

live your bold, creative life one moment at a time

Entertainment

What’s good, bad and happening, from pop culture to high culture

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages