Happy 12 months, Dhyan!!

I am not even sure where to start.. I dont know how this year flew by so quickly. I remember Dhyan’s arrival into this world like it was yesterday, yet i can’t even picture what life was life before he arrived. It’s been a very bittersweet past couple of days for Kunal and I. How did we get here so quickly? We have been mom and dad for an entire year? and look! he is still breathing, healthy and happy and oh my gosh, so beautiful!

Dear sweet Dhyan, it has been my greatest privilege to be called your mother this past year. I dont know how many times throughout the day I pause and look at you and think, “he belongs to me?? how did I get so lucky?” Dhyan, you have taught me so much about myself, about love and the things that matter the most. you have made my saddest and most frustrating moments joyful again! I am thankful I get to spend my days by your side. Thank you for being here, for being your happy beautiful self and for making your mama and papa’s day, over and over again! Dhyan has so much personality and my little cutie wants to be so independent already! We love you, eternally! Happy Birthday Dhyan!!

Height/weight: Dhyan weight is about 23 lbs (he lost a little from being sick / ear infections/ cold :() and height is 31.5 inches.

Size: Dhyan is wearing 12-18 months clothing and size 4 diapers.

Routine: His daily routine hasn’t changed much from last month except for the fact that he is not pretty much down to 2 naps a day, which is fine. Length of the naps are approx. 1-2 hours.

Sleeping: Dhyan is  sleeping through the night his crib/in his room with the door shut. I started sleep training slowly by putting him in his crib for naps and at night. I tried the ferber CIO method first night at night but it didnt go well and broke my heart. He did not sleep through the night but did not wake up 3 times either. 2nd night he fell a sleep within 3 minutes and slept through the night and 3rd night he fell a sleep within seconds without crying and slept through the night. I am glad we did this and wished would have done earlier.

Eating: I breastfed until he turned one year old and now transitioned him to organic whole milk. I m happy that I am done with nursing but I am so happy that I completed my goal of a year because I remember how hard it was in the beginning and how badly I was close to giving up. But I am so glad I did not and I can tell you right now that it was absolutely worth it. Dhyan is eating 3 solid meals a day and drinks milk twice during day and once at night. Dhyan loves indian food and easily tries new foods when given to him. I have noticed that he doesnt care for sweet sugary foods but he loves savory things. In the morning he loves his cereal with milk or eggs or anything I make for my self (indian food), for lunch he always has to have his favorite vegetable khichdi and for dinner we have something new and different each day.

Personality/mood: Dhyan is definitely changed compared to last month and wants to be very independent. His personality is really showing through. If he wants something he will point it and say gibberish and he doesnt want something then he will grunt and push it away. If you try to give it to him he will take it and throw it away. He does have little temper LOL. He is so fast at crawling and now soon to be walking. Dhyan loves going to play dates but recently I am noticing behavior that he wants everything that his friends have. My son is very stubborn LOL. I am trying to teach him sharing by taking him to play dates so he learns while having interaction with other kids.

Milestones: Dhyan is about to walk- he holds on to things and walks around slowly. He is such a busy bee and extremely active. He is all over the place and at times I feel like my little cutie is energized bunny. Dhyan talks gibberish and clearly says cookie, daddy, mommy, kaka, dada, papa, hot! He tries to repeat words and when I tell him I love you Dhyan he tries to repeat with back to me.

Loves: Dhyan loves going outside to the park. He loves looking at the dogs and cats, and wants to bring them home. He loves soft toys. Dhyan loves reading books, cars and anything with wheels. Dhyan loves swimming and bath time. Dhyan loves messing things in the house, getting into kitchen cabinets to pull things out. Dhyan has not been afraid of anything yet !!

Doesnt love: Dhyan doesnt like trying sweet things and drinking milk. Dhyan hates when you take his favorite toy away or books away to feed him or for nap time. Dhyan is getting little fussy when we pull him out of the water during bath time and during diaper changes. Dhyan hates wearing socks/ hats/ coats/ tight clothing.

 

Leave a Reply

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

GoanImports.com

Learn Goan and Indian Recipes

Made by you and I

Cooking -- and photography -- are personalization

Sonia Ruyts

live your bold, creative life one moment at a time

Entertainment

What’s good, bad and happening, from pop culture to high culture

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages